Brainstorm 2017: PLM-CM Claims Top Spot after Three-Way Tie


By Dan Concepcion, Class 2020; Joannes Asis, Class 2020

The Mu Sigma Phi Fraternity and Sorority once again held the 26th Brainstorm: Inter-Medical School Quiz Show last February 24, 2017 at the Robinsons Place Manila Atrium. As part of the Mu Sigma Phi's Scholarship Month, Brainstorm aims to bring the best out of the medical students and to promote camaraderie within the medical profession in the spirit of healthy competition. This year, twenty teams representing ten medical schools competed for the coveted title of Brainstorm 2017 Champion. In a historic three-way tie for first place, Team 6 from the Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila - College of Medicine emerged victorious. Securing second place was Team 20 from the University of Santo Tomas Faculty of Medicine and Surgery, followed by Team 19 from the University of the Philippines College of Medicine in third place.



The participating schools and teams in this year's Brainstorm were AMA School of Medicine, Ateneo School of Medicine and Public Health, Bicol University College of Medicine, De La Salle Health Sciences Institute - College of Medicine, Emilio Aguinaldo College - School of Medicine, Pamantasan ng Lungsod ng Maynila - College of Medicine, San Beda College of Medicine, University of Perpetual Help Rizal - Jonelta Foundation School of Medicine, University of the Philippines College of Medicine, and the University of Santo Tomas Faculty of Medicine and Surgery.

The contest proper started with the Elimination Round, composed of easy, average, and difficult questions from the basic biomedical sciences: Anatomy, Biochemistry, Physiology, Histology, Pathology, Microbiology, Parasitology, and Pharmacology. After an exciting round, five teams, representing ASMPH, DLSHSI-CM, PLM-CM, UPCM, and UST-FMS, were qualified to move on to the Championship Round. While the teams who were still in the game rested and re-energized, the award-winning Mu Band performed two popular hits, "Like I'm Gonna Lose You" and "Sugar."

The Championship Round was a jeopardy-style contest, consisting of five categories: Internal Medicine, Pediatrics, Surgery, Obstetrics and Gynecology, and Therapeutics. After a fierce and impressive battle, this round ended with a triple tie for the championship between PLM-CM, UPCM, and UST-FMS. A heart-stopping and nerve-racking Clincher Round broke the tie and determined the ranks of the three teams.

The event was graced by the presence of the panel of judges – composed UP-PGH Consultants Dr. Elizabeth Montemayor, Dr. Apolinario Ericson Berberabe, Dr. Maria Cecilia Lim, Dr. Maria Sonia Salamat, and Dr. Jose Leonard Pascual – who presented the awards to the winners: Champion, Team 6 from PLM-CM composed of Bryan Elvambuena, Don Macario, Jomhel Sijas; First Runner-up: Team 20 from UST-FMS, composed of Sushmita Mae Rose Contreras, Henrick Ryan Fong, and Federico Peralta; and Second Runner-up: Team 19 from UPCM, composed of Linnaeus Louisse Cruz, Frinz Moey Rubio, and Anthony Kimo Bello.

2nd Runner Ups

2nd Runner Ups, Team 19 from UPCM composed of Kimo Bello of Class 2019, Linius Cruz of Class 2021, Frinz Rubio of Class 2020

Champion, Team 6 from PLM-CM composed of Bryan Elvambuena, Don Macario, Jomhel Sijas

The program was brought to a close with the final remarks given by Dr. Marvin Masalunga, adviser of Brainstorm 2017.


Mu Sigma Phi